The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
Cream 1/2 cup softened or margarine, cream cheese, and sugar together. Slowly add in flour and cinnamon. Divide into 24 1-inch balls and chill for at least 2 hours. Press into mini-muffin pans, smashing the dough down in the middle to make a mini pie shell in each cup. (I never need to grease the pans.)
For the filling, combine remaining 1/2 cup of margarine, powdered sugar and honey in a saucepan. Cook until margarine melts and everything is combined. I find it easiest to chop up the pecans, divide it amongst the tassies, and then pour the margarine/sugar/honey mixture over the top.
Bake at 350 °F for 30 minutes.
I have a source for pecans that are not contaminated by peanuts so I let my peanut-allergic child eat them. If avoiding peanuts and/or other sub-classes of tree nuts, be sure to verify the safety of your pecans.
To make this milk-free, use a milk-free margarine and milk-free cream cheese.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.