The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
Mix flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar together; cut in the coconut oil until crumbly. Stir in coconut milk until soft dough forms.
Knead until just combined.
Turn out onto a floured surface; roll or press to approx. 1/2 inch thick and cut out biscuits. Bake 10 min, until slightly browned on top.
While biscuits are baking, slice strawberries; sprinkle with sugar, if desired.
When biscuits are done, slice in half and put a few marshmallows on the bottom half; replace the top half to melt the marshmallows and top it all off with strawberries.
Quantities for the strawberries and marshmallows are VERY approximate.
Marshmallows can be used for the ‘whipped cream’ factor, but they’re pretty sweet!
I’ve successfully replaced *part* of the flour with whole wheat.
I’ve used oat milk instead of coconut; I assume any alternate milk would be successful, maybe even water.
Any fruit can be subbed for the strawberries – peaches would be delicious!
Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.