The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
2/3 cup spelt flour, brown rice, or garbanzo bean flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
2 Tbsp dry milk powder
2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp unflavored gelatin powder
1 tsp Italian herb seasoning (optional)
2/3 cup warm water
1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 Tbsp coarse ground cornmeal (optional)
Preheat oven to 425 °F.
In medium mixer bowl, blend the yeast, flours, dry milk powder (or sweet rice flour), xanthan gum, salt, gelatin powder, and Italian herb seasoning on low speed. Combine warm water, sugar (or honey), olive oil, and vinegar and add to dry mixture. Beat on high speed for 3 minutes. (Add water, if necessary, one tablespoon at a time, until dough does not resist beaters.) The dough will resemble soft bread dough. Let rise covered for 15 minutes.
Pat dough into desired shape on floured surface. Sprinkle with coarse ground cornmeal if desired. Transfer shaped dough to pizza stone or cooking tray sprayed with cooking oil.
Bake the pizza crust for 10 minutes. Remove from oven. Spread pizza crust with sauce and toppings. Bake for another 20-25 minutes or until top is nicely browned.
Use this dough for either thin or thick crust pizzas.
To avoid wheat and gluten, use rice or garbanzo bean flour suggestions.
Dry milk powder can be replaced with sweet rice flour to make dairy free.
Sugar can be replaced with 1/4 tsp honey.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.