The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
Preheat oven to 325 °F. Grease a 8 x 12″ baking pan. Mix poha with juice and set aside. Work together the rest of the dry ingredients with your fingertips until no lumps of brown sugar remain. Drizzle oil over the flour mixture and mix in with fingertips. The poha should have been soaked in the fruit juice for at least 5 to 10 minutes by now, and softened a little. Add the poha to the flour mix and mix it in so that you have an evenly moistened, crumbly mixture.
Set aside 1/2 cup for the topping. Press the remainder evenly to the bottom of the prepared pan. Spread fruit preserves over the top. Sprinkle with the reserved topping.
Bake for 30 – 40 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool in the baking dish on a rack. Cut into squares.
Poha flakes are pounded rice flakes. They can be found in Indian groceries or on line.
Kathy P has made this recipe corn free by replacing the cornstarch with potato starch or using 1 cup of gluten-free flour mix to replace all the flours and starches. She has also made this with rolled oats to replace the poha. Mix the dry rolled oats into the dry mixture and add the juice separately.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.