The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
Mix the flours and all other dry ingredients (except cornmeal) in the bowl of a food processor or stand mixer. Add the shortening and pulse the food processor or run the mixer to cut in the shortening into the flour, like you would for a pie crust. When the mixture looks like clumpy cornmeal, you’re done. (You can also do this by hand, with two knives or a pastry cutter.)
Beat together the eggs and milk in a small bowl. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the liquid. Stir with a spatula until just combined. Stir in the cornmeal until just combined. Do not over mix.
Pour into a greased 9×9 square pan. Bake 20 to 25 minutes, or until the sides of the cornbread are slightly shrinking from the pan and a toothpick comes out clean.
This recipe is an adaptation of one from the Gluten-Free Girl website.
Don’t substitute butter or margarine for the shortening, but lard works very well. You can use Crisco or one of the new trans-fat-free types.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.