Lemon Bars

default pinit
5 star Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

# of Servings: 12
Recipe Created By: Rebecca Fernandez


2 cups gluten-free flour blend*
3/4 cup Earth Balance® margarine, butter or other safe margarine
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp fresh grated lemon zest
4 eggs
2 cups sugar
2 Tbsp + 2 tsp cornstarch
3/4 cup lemon juice (part bottled is ok)
2 Tbsp grated lemon zest
1 tsp baking powder
2 Tbsp water
powdered sugar


Grease a 9×13″ pan and dust generously with rice flour. Preheat oven to 375 °F.

Process the flour blend, margarine, 1/2 cup sugar, xanthan gum, and 1 tsp lemon zest in a food processor until it begins to form a dough. You can also cut the margarine in by hand, like a pie crust. Press into the pan and bake until pale golden, about 15 – 20 minutes.

Wipe out the food processor bowl and put the eggs inside. Beat until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and process until smooth. Pour over baked crust and reduce the oven to 350 °F. Bake until a knife comes out mostly clean from the center (not liquid, but set up more like a soft custard), about 30 minutes. Dust with powdered sugar and store in the fridge.


For the flour blend, you can use your favorite or even a store bought one (but skip the xanthan gum if your mix already includes it).

I measure out 2 cups from this mix:

1 cup Authentic Foods superfine brown rice flour
1 cup white rice flour
2/3 cup potato starch
1/3 cup tapioca starch

If you can’t find superfine brown rice flour, substitute regular white rice flour.


If you use butter instead of stick margarine, start with 1/2 cup and add more as needed.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

0 Add to Favorites
0 Add to Favorites

Share it on your social network