The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
Recipe Created By: Yael Weinstein and Tamar Stitelman
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp oil
1 1/4 cups water
3 1/2 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
4 tsp baking powder
2 1/4 tsp yeast
2 Tbsp sugar
1/4 cup rice or other milk alternative
Place ingredients into bread machine in order that they appear, except the last two. Put in the bread machine on the dough setting. After the dough setting finishes punch down one more time and let rise 1 hour more in bread machine.
Take out and shape in desired shape or in bread pan and bake at 350 °F for 35 minutes.
For glaze when bread is in the oven take 1/4 cup rice milk (or what ever milk you can use) and 2 Tbsp sugar. Heat in small sauce pan for 2-3 minutes until the sugar dissolves. Once the bread comes out of the oven brush it over the bread.
My mother and I make a 7 braided challah.
Roll out 7 strands.
Take two and twist together 2 times.
Make a 3 strand bread.
Take the two twists place them side by side and pinch together on the top and bottom.
Place the 3 strand braid on top of the other two and pull both top and bottom under the challah.
Use whatever milk or alternative is safe for your family.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.