Wheat Free Waffle-Type Ice Cream Bowl

default pinit
5 star Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Danielle


6 eggs
2 3/4 cups quinoa flour
1 cup margarine, melted
1/2 tsp salt
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 Tbsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups sugar
canola oil, as needed for griddle


Mix together cooled melted margarine, eggs, sugar, and vanilla until well blended. Add slowly the dry ingredients until a batter is formed.

Wipe inside of pizelle iron with safe oil, safe cooking spray also works well. If using oil, I oil my machine with a clean new tooth brush because you need to make sure to get in the grooves.

Preheat iron but try to avoid letting it get too hot.

Place a teaspoon of batter on each side and close iron, hold closed for 30 seconds, open iron, take waffle off iron with spatula and place over inverted small to medium sized bowl and let cool. Remove when hardened (about 3 minutes) and place on cooling rack to cool further. (You might be able to make a paper cone shapes, and shape these as cones.)

Repeat until batter is gone.

Do NOT put batter in refrigerator. It makes the batter stick terribly.


You WILL need a pizzelle iron for this. You want one with deep groves in it. Mine is made by Palmer. You will find pizzelle irons online or at “Italian” specialty stores, Marshall Fields has them also.


Egg Replacer does not work well from my experience with this recipe.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.

0 Add to Favorites
0 Add to Favorites

Share it on your social network