The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
1 cup chicken bouillon (1 cube dissolved in 1 cup hot water)
2 tsp chili powder
12 flour tortillas
16 oz (4 cups) shredded cheddar cheese (can use vegan options)
as garnish dairy or soy sour cream (optional)
Brown onion with oil until soft. Add turkey and cook until browned. Season with salt, oregano, Tabasco. Set aside.
In a saucepan, melt margarine. Stir in flour, and add tomato juice, chili powder, and bouillon. Bring to a boil, stirring, until slightly thickened. Set this sauce aside.
To assemble, grease 2 13×9″ pans. Brush one side of tortilla with sauce. Sprinkle with cheese (if using) and add turkey mixture. Roll up and place in pan. Repeat.
Pour the rest of the sauce over the top of the enchiladas. Cover both pans with foil, and bake at 350 °F for 20-30 minutes until heated through.
Chicken bouillon can be replaced with canned or homemade chicken stock. If stock is unsalted, add salt to taste.
The margarine is used to make a roux to thicken the sauce. Any safe fat or oil can be used.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.