The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
1 Tbsp Egg Replacer powder (to be mixed with water)
4 Tbsp warm water
4 Tbsp unsalted margarine
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup vanilla soy milk
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350 °F. Grease muffin tin.
Mix flours, xanthan gum, dry Egg Replacer, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl.
In another medium bowl, whisk the other Tbsp Egg Replacer and the warm water until mixture becomes creamy. Add margarine, sugar, soymilk, oil, and vanilla to the egg replacer mixture. And whisk all together.
Gradually, add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Whisk altogether. Don’t overmix.
Fold in the chocolate chips.
Put 1/4 cup mixture into each muffin cup. Makes 12.
Bake until a tester comes out clean – 350 °F for approx 25 minutes
Serve slightly warm with jam.
Excellent served with strawberry jam.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.