The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
Preheat oven to 350 °F. Spray muffin tin with non-stick spray or use muffin liners.
In a large bowl combine the sunflower seed butter, pumpkin puree, brown sugar and margarine until mixed thoroughly. Add the coconut milk yogurt.
In a small bowl, combine the flour, xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda and sea salt. Add to the wet ingredients and combine. Don’t overmix; lumps are ok.
Spoon into muffin tin. Make a small indentation in the top of the muffin and place a small amount of jam in it.
Bake 20-25 minutes until muffins are lightly browned.
This made 12 mini muffins and 11 large muffins for me. I used apricot preserves, but want to try blueberry or grape next time.
For the gluten free flour blend I used:
1/4 cup tapioca starch 1/4 cup potato starch 1/4 cup millet flour 1/8 cup white rice flour 1/8 cup sweet rice flour
With the puree, I would imagine you could use pumpkin, sweet potato, squash, applesauce, carrot, etc.
Commercial sunflower seed butter may not be safe for soy allergy, but you can make your own using safe seeds.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.