Crispy Firecracker Corn Fritters

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 8 votes.

Recipe Information

# of Servings: 5 (2 fritters per serving)
Recipe Created By: So Delicious Dairy Free


1 1/4 cups So Delicious® Original Coconut Milk Beverage
2/3 cup sorghum flour
4 Tbsp corn flour
2 Tbsp potato starch
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp coriander, ground
3/4 tsp cumin
2 Tbsp sugar
1 1/2 cups frozen corn
4 Tbsp red onion, diced
4 Tbsp cilantro, chopped
1/2 cup red bell pepper, diced or roasted peppers from a jar
1/4 cup canola oil


Combine dry ingredients (sorghum flour through sugar) in a bowl and mix well.

Combine wet ingredients (coconut milk through bell pepper) in a separate bowl and whisk until well incorporated.

Add dry ingredients to the wet batter and mix well.

Heat oil in a high-sided skillet, ensuring that it covers two inches up the sides or use a nonstick griddle. To test oil for rediness, drop a little batter into the pan. Batter should fall to the bottom and sizzle then float to the top within seconds.

Drop the batter into the hot oil by the spoonful and cook 2-4 minutes per side. Fritters will puff up when ready to flip.

Drain fritters on paper towels and serve with your favorite aioli, sweet chili sauce, or creamy chimichurri sauce.


For a thinner batter, add 4 tablespoons of coconut milk and prepare these on an oiled griddle. These light and fluffy fritters are a cinch to make and can be customized with your favorite additions like herbs, shredded zucchini and carrots, or finely diced spring vegetables.

If you are finding that the batter is coming apart in the oil, try adding a bit more potato starch (up to double the amount) to help it bind together.

This recipe is shared courtesy of So Delicious Dairy Free.


Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.
Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

1 Add to Favorites
1 Add to Favorites

Share it on your social network