Caramel Apple Dip

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 6 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Meg Falciani


1 cup cane sugar
1 cup golden syrup
1 cup full-fat coconut milk
4 Tbsp margarine
pinch kosher salt
1 tsp vanilla


Mix everything everything except vanilla in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a rolling boil. Cook until mixture reaches firm ball stage (245-250 °F on a candy thermometer), stirring constantly. Remove from heat and add vanilla.

Continue to stir mixture as it cools, until the margarine stays in suspension (it’s no longer floating on the surface). Dip apples at this point. (If you want “add ons”–nuts, coconut, cookie crumbs–roll immediately while caramel is still warm/sticky.) If your kitchen is warm, store dipped apples in fridge. For ice cream topping, either use immediately or reheat in double boiler until loose enough to pour.

Or allow mixture to cool until it’s handle-able. Grease hands and pull caramel until it takes on a lighter color and then roll into small bites.

Special note–do NOT crank burner to high and try to go faster or mixture will over expand and threaten to overflow pot.


I used Domino’s sugar, Lyle’s Golden Syrup, Kosher for Passover Mother’s Margarine, and homemade vanilla. Depending on ingredients, it can be Top 8 + corn free.

I know pinch isn’t a quantified measurement, but it was just what I grabbed between my fingertips–a “small” pinch vs a “heavy” pinch, kwim? 1/8 tsp, maybe? 1/4 tsp, max. It’s not “salty” at all, just enough salt to bring out flavors.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.

0 Add to Favorites
0 Add to Favorites

Share it on your social network