The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
1 cup buttermilk or dairy-free milk alternative, soured with 1 tsp vinegar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
Mix together margarine, sugar and vanilla. Add beaten eggs. Alternately add the buttermilk, 2 1/2 cups flour, baking soda and baking powder. Stir in additional 2 1/2 cups flour.
Roll out on a floured surface and cut out. Sprinkle tops with sugar (or colored sugar, sprinkles, etc).
Bake at 350 °F for 8-10 min depending on size.
Ener-G egg replacer works in place of beaten eggs to make egg-free but is not corn-free.
For buttermilk, can use 1 tsp vinegar to 1 cup milk substitute. Either rice or soy will work, but soy is a bit richer tasting.
If you do not have a milk allergy, you can use butter instead of milk-free margarine.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.