The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
1 1/2 Tbsp Egg Replacer mixed with 1 Tbsp cold water
1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp vanilla or lemon extract
1/8 tsp salt
Combine the dry ingredients, mixing well. Cut in the margarine until the mixture resembles crumbs the size of small peas.
In a small bowl, whisk together the Egg Replacer-water mixture and the vanilla. Add this to the flour mixture and mix until the dough pulls away from the side. If the mixture is too dry, add additional water one tablespoon at a time until the dough is the right texture.
Place the dough in plastic wrap, form into a disk, and refrigerate for one hour.
Preheat oven to 350 °F.
Dust a cutting board with rice flour, put the dough disk down on it,and dust the dough with rice flour. Roll it out to a 1/4″ thickness and cut into desired shapes.
Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet (preferably airbake type) and bake for 12-18 minutes. Cool on the cookie sheet. (Cookies are less crumbly this way.)
Cream of tartar is not derived from dairy.
If you are not allergic to milk, you can use butter.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.