The food allergy community has a big voice in shaping policies throughout the United States. Use our tools to take action and improve the lives of millions of children with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
KFA seeks to improve treatment options and quality of life for people with food allergies. KFA is part of the nation’s oldest and largest asthma and allergy charity, the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA).
1 heaping Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 1/4 cup water
3 large ripe bananas
1-2 Tbsp water
Sift dry ingredients together.
In mixer bowl, cream margarine and brown sugar. Whisk together egg replacer mixture. Add 1/2 dry ingredients alternating with 1/2 wet ingredients. Blend well after each addition. Add well mashed banana and mix until thoroughtly blended. Add additional 1-2 Tbsp water if batter seems to dry (this will likely depend on size and ripeness of bananas).
Pour into well greased 4×8″ loaf pan. Bake at 350 °F for 45min or until tests done. Cool slightly in pan before removing to rack to cool completely.
If not avoiding wheat, the gluten-free flour mix can be replaced with all-purpose wheat flour. Omit the xanthan gum.
Another egg replacer concoction can be used, if needed.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.