2-3 cups prepared DariFree™ or other milk alternative
1 tsp pepper
In medium saucepan, melt margarine. Stir in flour with a wooden spoon or a whisk until thoroughly blended ... this will become thick. Stir in the Dari-Free ... continue stirring to eliminate lumps. This will thicken as you go. Stir in nutritional yeast and pepper. When this is thick, set it aside off the heat. (You may need to add more liquid to achieve a texture that looks pourable.)
In 2-quart casserole dish, swish around enough salsa to cover the bottom of the dish. Lay 3 corn tortillas in it, layered so that together they cover the entire bottom of the dish.
Layer on half of the chicken, and then about 1/3 of the sauce; splash with salsa. Repeat layering, ending up with tortillas, sauce, salsa on the top.
Put in 350 °F oven for about an hour. Realize this is all pre-cooked, so you're just heating it through.
The tortillas soften up, so that there are not distinctive layers later on.
Dino and Annika both loved this ... I gave Dino some shredded pepper-jack cheese to toss on. He actually requested these leftovers another two times.
Be sure to get nutritional yeast without dairy cross-contamination. This can be a matter of different packaging. This makes a vaguely cheese-ish sauce.
Any type of vegetable oil should work in place of the margarine but I haven't tried it. In general, you can make a roux with any fat plus the flour.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.