Print Options:

Sorghum Flatbread and Oyster Crackers

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Melanie Carver


1/2 cup sweet sorghum flour
3/4 cup tapioca starch
1/3 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 Tbsp margarine
1 Tbsp oil
1/2 cup water (divided)


Stir together dry ingredients. Then cut in cold margarine until mixed well throughout.

Then stir in oil.

Then slowly start adding water, 2 tablespoons at a time, and knead the dough by hand for 10 minutes. If needed, add an additional 2 tablespoons sorghum flour to get the dough to the correct consistency. It should form a ball, and be dry, soft, and smooth, but not be sticky.

Heat a frying pan (do not oil it) on medium heat. Take small portions of dough, and roll them into balls in your hands. Then press them to about 1/4" thickness. (Two plates may be used to press them evenly.) Heat each piece of dough for about 5 minutes per side to make pita bread.

Alternatively, cut the pressed dough into small pieces and bake them in a pre-heated 350 degree F. oven for 15 minutes to make crackers.

Store in a sealed container. The next day, they are fine to slice open in the middle like little pita pocket breads.


Copyright © 2006 Melanie Carver. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.