Print Options:

Pumpkin Honey Streusel Muffins or Donuts

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 7 votes.

Recipe Information

# of Servings: 15
Recipe Created By: Karen Farr


1/2 cup melted margarine
1 15-16 oz can pumpkin
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup honey
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
Streusel Topping
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
2 Tbsp softened margarine


Melt the margarine. Gradually beat in the honey until creamy, then mix in the pumpkin and vanilla. Set aside. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and spices. Add the pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until just blended. Mixture will be thick. In a small bowl, with your fingers or a pastry blender, mix together the topping ingredients until they form coarse crumbs.

Grease paper lined muffin cups and fill 3/4 full of batter. Sprinkle Streusel Topping over entire surface of muffin. Bake at 350 °F for 25-30 minutes or until firm. Cool. Makes about 15-18 muffins. Can be baked in a donut pan for pumpkin streusel donuts.


I altered my original Pumpkin Streusel Muffin recipe to use honey instead of sugar and entered it in our county fair in the Honey Baked Goods category. This recipe won first place in the muffin category and Best of Show Over All of the honey baked goods entered. I believe this recipe would also work with Maple Syrup as the sweetener, using the same principles as above.


Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.