Print Options:

Pear or Veg Muffins

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Laura


1/3 cups margarine
1 cup sugar
2 cups pear or vegetable puree
1 2/3 cups flour or gluten-free flour mix
1 tsp xanthan gum (optional)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder


Preheat oven to 350 °F (or 175C).

In a large bowl, cream margarine and sugar. Add fruit/veg puree and mix.

Sift dry ingredients. Xanthan gum is for use with gluten-free flour mixes to make them more palatable.

Mix all ingredients together.

Put in greased muffin, mini-muffin or even loaf pan. I grease even if non-stick.

Bake until toothpick comes clean from muffin. Time depends on size of muffin, mini-muffin, loaf tin. Start checking muffins at 18 minutes, loaves at an hour.


To make pear, fruit or vegetable puree you can:

EITHER take one large can of pears or other fruit and drain liquid into a bowl (don't discard) and whiz pears in blender/processor. Add liquid so it will mix; OR use jarred/canned baby food fruit or vegetables, OR simmer fruit/veg until soft and then mash/puree.

This is a very forgiving recipe.

Xanthan gum is not needed if you can use regular flour. If using gluten-free flour mix xanthan gum is highly recommended!

*****This is based on Annika's Banana Bread recipe! Thank you Annika!


Would work with lots of fruit and veg: apricot, peach, zucchini, pumpkin/squash, carrot, apple, choko (chayote squash)

Optional variations: add cheese (soft cheese like cream cheese or even hard cheese like cheddar or parm), nuts?, tofu, raisins or other dried fruit ...whatever is safe for your allergies.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.