Print Options:

Honey Cake

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 2 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Jennifer Hisrich


1 cup gluten-free flour mix
1 scant cup garbanzo and fava flour, mixed
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp allspice
2 Tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer
3/4 cup honey
1/2 cup orange marmalade
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup water
1 cup strong cold brewed tea
1/3 cup sliced almonds (optional)


Make sure you have your tea made.

Heat oven to 325 °F.

Grease and flour 8" square baking pan.

Mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt, spices, and egg replacer.

In a medium size bowl beat honey, marmalade, sugar, oil, and water with electric mixer at high speed 2 minutes or until well blended.

Stir in flour mixture in 3 additions alternating with the tea, mixing JUST TO BLEND aftet each. Do not over beat. In fact, don't use your mixer, just a spoon or spatula.

Put into prepared pan; sprinkle with almonds (optional).

Bake one hour or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Mine took over an hour.

Cool in pan on rack.

Cut into 8-12 pieces.


Adapted from a Women's Day recipe.

Honey cake is a special treat for Rosh Hashanah or any time you want to celebrate a sweet year. This one is almost like gingerbread.

Probably best not to try this if you live at a high altitude. It always overflowed and then sank even with the original ingredients.


To avoid tree nuts, omit optional almonds.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.