Print Options:

Gluten-Free Thin Mints

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 65 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Sarathomps


1 1/4 cup gluten-free flour blend (see below)
1/4 cup regular unsweetened cocoa
1/4 cup special dark cocoa
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp butter, margarine, or spectrum, softened
3 Tbsp applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
2 tsp egg replacer
2 Tbsp water


Preheat oven to 350 ° F.

Combine flours, cocoas, xanthan gum and baking soda in a small bowl and stir with a whisk.

Combine brown sugar, butter, applesauce, vanilla extract and peppermint extract in a medium bowl and beat with a mixer at high speed for 2 minutes.

Whisk egg replacer and water together and then add to sugar mixture. Beat. Add flour mixture and beat low until well blended.

Using a small cookie scoop (1 1/2 tsp) scoop out dough onto a cookie sheet, leaving an inch in between.

Bake for 8-10 minutes or until looks dry. Don't over bake. You want them chewy. Let cool on a cookie sheet for a few minutes then remove and cool completely on a wire rack.

Alternatively, to make more of a traditional thin mint style cookie:

Spread dough onto a sheet of plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray. Roll up the sheet until the dough is in 6 inch log shape. Coat hands with cooking spray and coax it if needed. Freeze for about an hour. Take out and immediately cut into thin slices with a sharp knife. Place on cookie sheet and inch apart and bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove and cool on wired racks.



I use a flour blend of:

3/4 cup superfine brown rice flour
1/4 cup potato starch
1/4 cup tapioca starch

You can also just use 1/2 cup of regular cocoa. I just like the dark chocolate flavor.

You may prefer to use less peppermint extract. I think especially if you use all regular cocoa you may need to reduce to 1/4 tsp. I like the combination of dark cocoa and minty flavor.

Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.