Print Options:

Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan Caramel Apples

4 star Avg. rating 4 from 4 votes.

Recipe Information

# of Servings: 2-3 Apples
Recipe Created By: Jessica Carpenter


2-3 apples, Granny Smith, Jonagold, or your choice
8 oz pitted medjool dates
3 1/2 Tbsp full fat coconut milk or So Delicious® Dairy Free Vanilla Coconutmilk Beverage
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt (optional)
1/2 cup vegan, nut-free chocolate chips
1/4 cup shredded coconut (optional)
1/4 cup vegan marshmallows (optional)
1/4 cup sunflower seeds (optional)
2-3 lollipop sticks


Wash and dry apples. If you want to make caramel apple slices, cut the apple into four or five pieces vertically. Place candy or lollipop sticks into the apples.

Place the pitted dates, coconut milk, vanilla and salt into a food processor or high powered blender. Process on high for 5-7 minutes, scraping the sides down as needed, until caramel is smooth.

With the end of a small spatula or knife, "frost" the apples with the caramel, moving all the way around the apple or apple slice until completely covered.

Roll apples in toppings (shredded coconut, vegan marshmallows, sunflower seeds, etc) if desired.

Melt chocolate chips at 30 second intervals in the microwave until completely melted.

Drizzle the chocolate over the apples or dip the bottoms of the apples until desired portion is covered in chocolate.

Place caramel apples on parchment paper in the fridge for approximately 30-60 min until both caramel and chocolate are set.

Slice up the apples or enjoy your apple slices!


The easiest and healthiest caramel apples you will ever make! Trick your children this Halloween with healthier caramel apples that require NO candy thermometer, NO unwrapping caramels, and NO searching for vegan caramel. This recipe is easy, allergy friendly and absolutely delicious! Your children will never know the difference with this sticky treat!


This caramel goes great with any kind of apple! It also makes a great dipping caramel for children's lunches!
Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.
Peanut Substitutions: There are many peanut-free products available in the US. Find out more about peanut substitutions.