Print Options:

Breadmaker Cinnamon Rolls

4 star Avg. rating 4 from 4 votes.

Recipe Information

Recipe Created By: Jana Robertson


1 cup lukewarm water
1 egg (or equivalent egg replacement)
3 3/4 cups flour
1 heaping Tbsp dry soy milk powder
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup margarine or shortening
1 Tbsp yeast
4 Tbsp margarine, softened
cinnamon and sugar mixture
raisins (optional)
powdered sugar


Place first eight ingredients (down to the yeast) in the breadmaker basket, and set the machine to the dough or fist rise cycle (generally about 1 1/2 hours).

Remove dough from breadmaker, and divide dough in half. Roll each half into a giant rectangle (about 15"x9"). Spread about 2 Tbsp of softened margarine on dough and sprinkle generous amount of cinnamon, sugar, and raisins if using. Roll dough up into a tube, working from the longer side so that your ending tube is 15" long. Cut tube into nine rolls. Repeat with other half of dough. Place all 18 rolls in a greased 13"x9" glass pan. Let rise until double. This takes about 40-60 minutes.

Bake about 25 minutes in a preheated 375 degree F degree oven until golden brown. When slightly cooled, ice with a mixture of powdered sugar and water.


One method for doing the rise in the baking pan is to put them in a cold oven with a second pan of boiling water on a rack underneath.


To avoid egg, use egg replacement options.
Butter and Margarine: Butter is a dairy product made from cow’s milk. Margarine typically contains milk or soy, but there are milk-free and soy-free versions available.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.
Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.