Print Options:

Becca’s Chicken Curry

3 star Avg. rating 3 from 6 votes.

Recipe Information

# of Servings: 8
Recipe Created By: Becca Godleski


2 cloves garlic
1 med yellow onion, diced
1 med fuji apple, diced
28 oz diced tomatoes
2-4 tsp curry pwder
2 Tbsp gluten-free flour mix
1 cup dairy/egg free mayo
4 Tbsp olive oil or other fat
3-4 cups diced chicken


In a large skillet, saute onion, garlic and apple in desired fat for about 5-7 minutes over medium heat.

Add can of tomatoes, flour mix, and curry to taste. Stir to mix well. Reduce heat and cover. Simmer for 10 minutes.

Transfer mixture to a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Transfer to serving dish. Add approx 1 cup of dairy free/egg free mayo and stir. Add warm diced chicken and mix completely.

Serve over rice.


I received this recipe from a good friend who got it from a lady while living overseas years ago. I never tried her version or had had curry before, but I took the recipe home and made it my own with changes here and there. It has been a favorite in my family ever since.

My family is large and this will serve us all a healthy portion. It can also be halved.

Also, I do not measure my mayo so the cup measure is an estimate. I tend to add until I get the right color.


I have only used Vegennaise with this recipe so I cannot tell you how another dairy and egg-free mayo would taste.

You can use any flour for your curry. It only needs to thicken a little. I have only used gluten-free combinations free of cornstarch.

You can adjust the amount of garlic and curry to your taste. I usually go with three tsp but I do not like things hot.

You can use any apple as long as it is sweet and firm. I like the Fuji for its size and taste. You can use a vidalia onion, but a yellow onion gives more flavor. I tend to buy apples and onions that are about equal in size.

Egg Substitutions: There are many egg-free products and foods available to make your recipes free of eggs. Find out more about egg substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.