Print Options:

Annika’s Spicy Coconut Chicken Breasts

5 star Avg. rating 5 from 4 votes.

Recipe Information

# of Servings: 6
Recipe Created By: Amy Hugon


6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 12 oz can coconut milk
1 20 oz can pineapple chunks in juice, undrained
1/4 cup dried tomato flakes (optional)
3 Tbsp chicken broth powder
1/4 cup salsa
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp mustard
3 Tbsp mustard seed
3 Tbsp dried orange peel
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
1 tsp garlic powder
dash pepper
1 Tbsp cornstarch or sweet rice flour (optional)


Place chicken breasts in large casserole dish.

Mix together remaining ingredients except for cornstarch or sweet rice flour. Pour over chicken.

Bake at 350 °F for approximately an hour, or until chicken is cooked through.

If desired, remove about 1/2 cup of sauce and stir in cornstarch or sweet rice flour as a thickener. Return sauce to pan and return to oven for another few minutes to thicken. I prefer my sauce unthickened, as I like to scoop in on my rice.

Serve over rice.


Copyright © 2006 Amy Hugon. All rights reserved. The copyright of this recipe is retained by the original recipe creator. If you would like to publish this recipe elsewhere in print or online, please contact us to find out how to obtain permission.


Be sure to use a salsa that is safe for your allergy set as these can vary widely in their ingredients.

To avoid corn, select sweet rice flour as thickener rather than cornstarch and select corn-free brown sugar and salsa.

Coconut: Although classified by the FDA as a tree nut, coconut is not a common allergen and is not related to tree nuts. If you have a tree nut allergy, consult your physician to find out if you need to avoid coconut.
Corn Substitutions: Corn is a common ingredient in products. Starch, modified food starch, dextrin and maltodextrin can be from corn. Consult with your physician to find out which corn derivatives you need to avoid. Many corn-free options are available in the US. Find out more about corn substitutions.
Gluten: Gluten is a protein found in specific grains (wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, rye). Other grains are naturally gluten-free but may have cross-contact with gluten-containing grains. Look for certified gluten-free products if you need to avoid gluten. Find out more about wheat and gluten substitutions.
Milk and Soy Substitutions: Alternative dairy-free milk beverages and products will work in most recipes. Find out more about milk substitutions and soy substitutions.